National Certification
New Rules
Current Executive
Local Associations

Wink Willox 2012

The Saskatchewan Association of Basketball Officials is pleased to nominate Jackie Packet for the Wink Willox Award 2012.

I began reffing early in my teaching career--the fall of 1986.  It was a trade off; I didn't have to coach basketball because I ran the drama club, but , in exchange, I had to ref basketball.  Ed Fiegel, who past away this year, was my mentor.  People like Vic and Lois Wrigley offered much support and guidance.  I began reffing the junior league games and eventually graduated to high school and ladies.  I have been selected to ref at two HOOPLA's and have found that rewarding.  When Ed retired from reffing, in the mid-90's, I became the ref-in-chief for the Prince Albert Ref Association.  Aside from assigning, a great deal of my focus is on ref development, particularily new refs.  We have implemented a ref mentorship program and have met with success.  Our high school basketball programs are stronger because of the strong reffing at the elementary and junior high levels.  I have been part of organizing teams for such things as HOOPLA in PA, Western Canadian Games, and various aboriginal and provincial games. I look forward to retiring from teaching in 3 years and will continue to ref for the sportsmanship of basketball and the exercise.


Wink's contributions to Canadian basketball in general, and British Columbia basketball in particular, were enormous. A member for many years of the executive committee of the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials (IAABO), Wink was one of the founding members of CABO in 1974 and represented British Columbia as its Interpreter until his death in August of 1982. Wink was the first recipient (posthumously) of CABO’s Ted Earleyaward in 1984, and was inducted into the Canadian Basketball Hall of Fame in 1994.


In any given year, there may be only one candidate selected for a Willox Award from each province. Criteria, which have been established for the Willox Award, are as follows:

1. Good floor official by local standard;

2. Significant length of service to the basketball community;

3. Various forms of service to basketball organizations;

4. Contributions to basketball in an administrative role.


Hub Gutheridge SK 1984

Keith Rever SK 1988

Fred Frolick SK 1990

Laird Campbell SK 1991

Edward Feigel SK 1992

Clayton Sjoberg SK 1994

Dick White SK 1995

Ken Bradley SK 1996

Lois Wrigley SK 1997

Bill Gordon SK 1998

Brian Hilsen SK 1999

Jerry Kozey SK 2000

Walter Morris SK 2001

Ron Lundsten SK 2003

Martin Holzer SK 2005

Fred Frolick Spirit of the Game Award

The Regina Association of Basketball Officials is pleased to present the “Fred Frolick Spirit of the Game Award” to well known basketball official DAVE WERRY.

           ·      Dave was involved in the Regina Community Basketball Association as a player and coach.

 ·      He played on the Provincial Champion team at Campbell.

 ·      He represented Saskatchewan at the Junior Men's Championship in St. John's

 ·      Dave officiated basketball for 36 years and has reffed at 20 university national championships and in four continents as an international official.

 ·      He is the Provincial Referee in Chief and a National evaluator.

 ·      Dave presently is the High Performance Coordinator at Basketball Saskatchewan.

 It is an honor that RABO present the Spirit Award to DAVE WERRY.

Congratulations Dave.

Fred Frolick Spirit of the Game Award

The Regina Association of Basketball Officials is pleased to announce the recipient of the “Fred Frolick Spirit of the Game Award” to an administrator – HOWARD JESSE.

 ·      Howard began teaching at Scott and led the senior girls to the provincial championship in 1984.

·      He was an administrator at Usher, Thom, Imperial, Winston Knoll and Campbell.

·      He coached the Campbell Junior Girls to three city championships – 2003, 04, 05.

·      He was involved with the Regina Community Basketball Association for several years.

·      He was on the RHSAA executive.

·      He was a co chair in 2009 for the CIS National Women's University Championship in Regina. 

It is with honor that RABO present the “Fred Frolick Spirit of the Game Award” to Howard Jesse for his demonstration of true SPIRIT of the game both on and off the court.

Wink Willox 2005

The Saskatchewan Association of Basketball Officials is pleased to nominate Martin Holzer for the Wink Willox Award 2005.

Martin was born and raised on the family farm near Estevan where he attended school. As a junior high student he was recruited by Coach Bernie Collins to referee local school games. After graduation he attended the University of North Dakota (Bottineau) where he played basketball for two years and received his Bachelor of Education.

Martin began his teaching career in 1986 in Prince Albert. In 1987 he moved to Moose Jaw Central Collegiate. He currently instructs welding at A.E. Peacock Collegiate. Martin was recruited to play basketball with a local Senior Men’s team which has won numerous city championships. He was also convinced to join the Moose Jaw Basketball Official’s Association. Martin took his involvement in refereeing seriously and soon developed into a top ranked official attending seven “Hooplas” beginning in 1988. He continued his strong interest for high quality officiating and was rewarded with two Western Canadian Juvenile appointments in Edmonton (1991, 1996) and an ACAC National Women’s in Medicine Hat (1999). He continues to travel to rural high school tournaments on weekends and push for more local officials development initiatives.

In 1993, Martin was elected as SABO treasurer, a post he would hold for eleven years. As an executive member, he made valuable contributions to officials’ development as a clinician and evaluator in rural districts. He has served as MJBOA president since 1995, recruiting and promoting local officials to reach provincial and national appointments. From 1998-2003 he has been the Moose Jaw referee-in-chief to the SHSAA spending countless hours attending meeting and providing rules interpretations and clinics for the Moose Jaw District. He was also involved with organizing officials for Hoopla 2000 in Moose Jaw.

Martin’s recent interest has become more local as an official and coach in the newly-formed minor basketball program.

Martin and his wife, Barbara, have three very active and athletic sons. Martin’s family is very proud of his accomplishments and have supported him throughout his career.

Doug McCaw
SABO President


Mitchell Strom of Saskatchewan has won a CABO scholarship of $500.00.  There are six awards given out each year across Canada.  Congratulations to Mitchell.

All documents available on this site are in pdf format.  A free viewer is available by following this link.   
Send mail to   
Last modified: 13/03/15